Joy- Something contagious worth sharing!

During 2013 we received a simple, life altering tool from author Jon Gordon. He wrote a book titled “One Word” with authors Dan Britton and Jimmy Page. In the book he shares how finding one word for one year will have an endless impact on your life if you own it, and live it. Last year my one word was virtue which ties into Proverbs 31. I used this word to remind me to be Christ-like in difficult situations such as the urge to gossip or interactions with my almost two year old throwing a tantrum.

I’m so thankful that our church has also adopted this wonderful principle of One Word in our message series Small Things, Big Difference (http://www.lifechurch.tv/watch) In this message series, our Pastor challenged us to find One Word, One Thought, One Scripture and One Discipline. I prayerfully asked God to bring one word to me this year. It wasn’t but a week after the message that God showed me my one word is Joyful.

I have found over the last several months, I have been quick to let others steal my joy. I was truly convicted and realized that I need to focus on doing all things with a happy, joyful heart. It’s so easy to get caught up in the day and forget to slow down to be joyful in all things. Joy is one thing that can be stolen in a moment if you let it. My challenge to myself and others is to live a joyful life every day because joy is something contagious worth sharing with those around you. Whether you are sharing it with your two-year old at home or co-workers, we can all use an extra dose of joy each day!

A twinkle in the eye means joy in the heart, and good news makes you feel fit as a fiddle.

-Proverbs 15:30 MSG

Leave a comment