Bending like a palm tree

palm tree

Do you find yourself thinking about why someone isn’t adjusting to your way? I often do. Let’s take driving as an example. My husband and friends out there can attest to me justifying why my style of driving seems like the best way- play it safe, don’t pull out in front of people and stay in the same lane the entire trip. So when I get in the passenger seat with my husband for instance I can get frustrated and sometimes ask him why he won’t stay in the same lane. I’m trying to justify my feelings instead of taking the time to adjust to his way.

Life is give and take.

I heard something recently that really stuck with me. The platinum rule. We’ve all heard of the golden rule- treat others like you want to be treated. A lot of us were raised on the golden rule and have done an awesome job at that. But stop and think- are we all created the exact same, with the exact same wants in life? No. (And thank goodness- That would be boring!)

The platinum rule is to treat others like they would want to be treated. It takes intention to stop our own thoughts and adjust to someone else’s way of doing things. Adjusting to those around us doesn’t have to change who we are but it changes how we react to those around us. I truly believe that this principle will help me grow as a wife, mother and Believer.

As I was writing this I started to think of palm trees and thought of this simple statement- Bend like a palm tree.

Have you ever watched a palm tree sway in the wind?

How about in a hurricane?

Have you ever seen a palm tree break?

It’s rare. Palm trees are rooted deeply into the earth. They have a trunk that allows them to sway with the wind but not break. We can take so much from a palm tree but I want to focus on how a palm tree naturally adjusts to the situation around it without breaking. We can apply this principle in our daily lives whether we are on our morning commute to work or in a battle with our two- year old who doesn’t want to brush their teeth. Next time you find yourself in a challenging situation where you are trying to get someone to see your point of view, consider gently swaying like a palm tree and adjusting to their point of view.

Leave a Reply

